Boating is a thrilling way to enjoy the summer sun, but it comes with inherent dangers. According to the U.S. Coast Guard, boaters are at risk of impact trauma, cardiac arrest, drowning, hypothermia and other hazards.
Boating under the influence is particularly dangerous. Not only can it lead to BUI charges, but it also puts your life, the lives of your passengers, and the lives of other boaters at risk.
Next time you cast off, keep these four safety tips in mind:
- Check the weather before you depart;
- Use a pre-departure checklist;
- Do not drive a boat after consuming alcohol;
- And inform a friend or family member about your trip.
If you were injured in a boating accident in Michigan, contact Christopher Trainor & Associates. A personal injury lawyer in Detroit will evaluate your situation, gather evidence, structure your claim, and help you pursue the maximum settlement.
Our firm has been representing the injured for more than 20 years. Call 1-800-961-8477 to schedule a free case evaluation. Until then, read on to learn four boating tips that could save your life:
- Check the Weather before You Depart
It’s no secret that rain, snow and other adverse conditions can be deadly for motor-vehicle drivers, but poor weather can be just as hazardous for boaters. It can reduce your visibility, which makes it difficult to navigate and to see buoys and other vessels. Also, high winds and choppy surfaces can affect your boat’s handling. Be sure to check your local weather station for updates before you depart.
- Use a Pre-Departure Checklist
All boaters should have a pre-departure checklist. This will help you notice equipment issues and fix them on land, which will be much easier than in the water. Discover Boating offers a comprehensive pre-departure checklist that you can print for free.
- Do Not Drive a Boat after Consuming Alcohol
Michigan boating laws are in place to prevent accidents and injuries. You should never drive a vessel after consuming alcohol. If your blood alcohol concentration is above 0.08 percent, then you will face boating under the influence charges. The legal BAC limit for drivers under the age of 21 is 0.02 percent.
A BUI charge can be a misdemeanor or felony depending on the defendant’s history of alcohol-related offenses. A conviction could come with a steep fine, time behind bars, and other consequences.
- Inform a Friend or Family Member about Your Trip
Before you cast off, tell a friend, family member or the staff at the marina about your boating plans. Inform them where you are going and how long you plan to be on the water.
Be sure to provide the following information:
- Your name, phone number and address;
- The names, phone numbers, and addresses of your passengers;
- The type of boat you are driving and its registration data;
- And information about the communication equipment on your vessel.
If you were injured in a boating accident that another person caused, contact Christopher Trainor & Associates. A Detroit injury attorney will protect your interests and help you fight for the maximum settlement.
Our office is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call 1-800-961-8477 to schedule a free case evaluation.