Michigan has officially become the state with the highest car insurance premiums. The average cost of auto insurance is over $1,110, compared to the national average of $911. With such high premiums, it is not all that surprising that the state also has the fifth highest rate of uninsured drivers in the nation.
Over 1.5 million Michigan motorists run the risks of driving without auto insurance at any given moment, a rate that is higher in economically downtrodden areas — as many as 50% of motorists in Detroit, Flint, and Pontiac go without auto insurance. This is a big factor in what makes car insurance premiums soar higher and higher for the majority of residents who abide by the law and remains a serious problem for all motorists in Michigan.
What happens if I am struck by an uninsured driver?
If you are an insured motorist in Michigan, you have a 1 in 5 chance of being struck by a motorist who goes without it. If you are seriously hurt from such an accident, your PIP coverage should pay all of your medical costs and up to 85% of the income you would have earned, though it can be a struggle to pry such damages from your insurance company after a claim has been filed. Although you can technically sue the uninsured party, you often have no source of legal recovery for pain and suffering. In this situation, a Michigan car accident attorney may come in handy.
How do uninsured drivers get by?
Uninsured motorists face unique challenges in Michigan. An uninsured driver carries no personal injury protection coverage and has no legal rights to no-fault benefits, which include lifetime medical care, lost wages, and in-home nursing services. This means that if you go without auto insurance, you are not entitled to these benefits, even if you are not at fault for the accident. If, as an uninsured driver who is not at fault you were injured by a completely reckless driver, you are also barred from suing the at-fault driver.
Lawmakers throughout the state are working together to come up with solutions to make insurance more affordable for everyone and simultaneously crack down on drivers who do not purchase insurance as required by law. Until then, it is wise to increase your uninsured/ underinsured motorist coverage. The minimum required by law is $20,000 but this is a very low figure. Many drivers don’t carry any uninsured motorist coverage while having other necessary protections.
If you have been hurt by an uninsured motorist, attorneys at Christopher Trainor & Associates are ready to learn about your case. We fight insurance companies daily to protect your rights. Call 1-800-961-8477 for a free case evaluation today.