Ridesharing is one of the most popular ways to get around in large cities. In locations such as Detroit, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Flint, and the surrounding areas, residents and visitors rely on Uber and Lyft for transportation. Unfortunately, rideshare vehicles are not exempt from car accidents. Hundreds of deaths occur each year due to accidents involving rideshare vehicles or drivers.
Whether you frequently use apps like Uber or Lyft or are just another driver on the road, here’s what you need to know about rideshare accidents and what you should do if you are involved in one in Michigan.
Just because you are riding in a rideshare vehicle does not mean your driver is automatically liable for the accident. Like any other accident in Michigan, rideshare accidents are covered by no-fault insurance policies. No-fault insurance is designed to protect the insured. No matter who caused the accident, no-fault insurance guarantees both parties receive compensation for their own damages if they carry personal car insurance.
No-fault insurance helps insured parties obtain compensation for medical bills, loss of wages, medical equipment, and property damage. Whether you are a passenger in the rideshare vehicle, the driver of a vehicle hit by a rideshare vehicle, or a rideshare driver, you should file a claim under your Michigan no-fault insurance policy.
Passengers of rideshare vehicles have a right to seek compensation for pain and suffering outside of any payment provided by their insurance company. If they experience an injury as a result of the rideshare driver’s negligence, they might be entitled to compensation according to the law. Common reasons individuals receive compensation in a lawsuit against a negligent rideshare driver include:
Any person who is injured in a rideshare accident should seek medical attention as soon as possible after the accident. Not only does quick medical attention help ensure you heal as quickly as possible it also provides official documentation proving your injuries were related to the accident.
When they sign on with the company, Uber and Lyft drivers agree to carry their own insurance. In addition, the company holds specific insurance coverage for when the driver is operating their vehicle while using the rideshare app. Rideshare drivers are only covered by the rideshare insurance policy when their app is turned on and/or they are transporting a customer.
The insurance policy does not cover accidents that occur when the driver is travelling on their own time or transporting a family member or friend with the app turned off. The amount of coverage provided by the insurance policy differs depending on which company the driver contracts under.
If you have been injured in an auto accident involving a rideshare driver, there’s no time to waste. Scheduling a consultation a trusted and competent attorney will increase the likelihood of you winning your claim against the negligent driver who caused your accident.
The Attorneys at the Michigan Legal Center specialize in representing clients injured in auto accidents. With more than 20 years of experience and more than $200 million worth of legal cases, we consider it our job to fight for the residents of Michigan. Our team is here to answer any questions and offer advice on the necessary steps to receive compensation for your injuries after a rideshare accident. Call 1-800-961-8447 for your free consultation.