Being in a car accident is not something a person expects. It is a tragic event that can alter the course of one’s entire life. If you’ve been in a car accident, you know that the aftermath is not easy to handle. Dealing with repairs and healing from injuries takes time and resources. After a crash in Michigan, it’s important to understand the state insurance system and what your policy covers. Here, we’re going to discuss what it means to live in a no-fault state and what you need to do if you’re in an accident.
The state of Michigan has operated under a no-fault insurance system for the last fifty years. In a no-fault state, each party and their insurance company is responsible for the cost of their own car repairs and personal injuries after an accident. Following an accident in Michigan, you will need to file an insurance claim with your own insurance company. Once you file a claim, the bills you have will be covered up to the limits of your personal insurance policy.
The state of Michigan requires each driver to carry a personal insurance policy with limits of $20,000/$40,000/$10,000. Here is a breakdown of what those insurance limits mean if you are involved in a car accident.
$20,000/$40,000 Bodily Injury Coverage: Michigan’s required limits of liability will cover up to $20,000 worth of payments for your personal injuries and $40,000 worth of personal injury payments for yourself and anyone else in your vehicle.
$10,000 Property Damage: Michigan’s required limits of liability will cover up to $10,000 worth of property damage to your vehicle and any additional personal property involved in the accident.
There are times when the limits of liability you have in your PIP do not cover the total cost of your car accident. For that reason, it is always in your best interest to consult experienced legal counsel.
Your PIP will cover the cost of personal injury and property damage. Common reasons people receive insurance payments after a car accident include:
If you suffer from bodily injuries as the result of an accident, it is essential to document your injuries with an experienced medical professional.
If you suffer severe injuries that cause you to stop work for a prolonged period of time or significantly change your future, you can seek additional compensation from the at-fault party. An attorney with experience handling car accident cases will be able to fight for you to win you the compensation you are entitled to according to law.
If you have been injured in a car accident in Michigan, you need to contact an attorney as soon as possible. Scheduling a consultation a trusted and competent attorney will increase the likelihood of you winning your claim against the negligent driver who caused your accident.
The Attorneys at the Michigan Legal Center specialize in representing clients injured in auto accidents. With more than 20 years of experience and more than $200 million worth of legal cases, we consider it our job to fight for the residents of Michigan. Our team is here to answer any questions and offer advice on the necessary steps to receive compensation for your injuries after a rideshare accident. Call 1-800-961-8447 or contact us for your free consultation.